The Writing Writer: Lex Luthor #1

I’m not that big of a fan of Lex Luthor.  I’ve heard enough fanboy ramblings from Ravingnerd to make be absolutely sick of the character.  So, I wasn’t too excited about Lex Luthor #1 but I figured I should get it since Luthor is a major player in the new 52 world order.  I was saddened when upon reading I saw it was a prequel to the events of Forever Evil.  Upon further reading I was less disappointed because this Luthor was not one I was expecting.

Luthor has been maniacal, calculating, cruel, sociopathic, and the man whose already won.  52 Luthor is all those things at once.  This is one of the few times where Luthor’s power is flexed to the fullest of its capabilities and his threats aren’t idle.  Sure he’s always been powerful and his threats have always carried weight, but rarely do we ever get to see him follow through just to make an example out of someone.  This Luthor is a badass and I like it.

There were some big problems with the comic though.  The biggest is that it completely undercuts the through lines to the events of Forever Evil.  I find it hard to believe that the Luthor in Lex Luthor #1 is the same as the Luthor in Forever Evil because of his final words.

“This is a job for Superman. So where the hell is he?”

The plot of Lex Luthor #1 surrounds Luthor pulling a stunt to discredit Superman as a savior.  Needless to say he succeeds and so I find it hard to believe that the man who just got the world to reconsider their views on the all powerful Superman would ever admit that there was a job for Superman let alone wonder what’s happened to him.  My second problem point is personal, but it still bugs me.  Lex is shown to outsource the choosing of some of his staff, namely his assistant.  I find it hard to believe that a man with that much power and control would outsource that decision to anyone.  But that’s just me.

Final Verdick: BAMF

Leave a Reply

