Ravingnerd Repost: How I Choose My Review Criteria

This is a re-posting of a review I conducted last June, it breaks down my review criteria and what each of the numbers mean, considering so many reviews keep hitting, I expect you’d like some context behind the number’s used to rate them.

Hello everyone! I have been thinking about it quite a bit lately, and have realized that my reviews adhere to a random criteria that you just ambiently consume. So, I thought that I would explain my criteria a bit.

I always like to discuss a little bit about the comic, about the situation, or my thoughts going into it. It allows me to preview and set the stage for the rest of my review.

My criteria is a scale of 1-10, and the numbers correlate as follows:
1- I want to burn this comic it is so bad.
2- I will stuff this away and probably never read it again.
3- I can see what it tries to do, but if fails to go their.
4- It’s missing something. One thing that would make it so much better.
5- Just less than average. A good read, but it has draw backs preventing it from being average.
6- The standard for comic books. If it is published, it should make at least this rank. It’s the average. There are great things about an average comic, but several drawbacks to it as well.
7- Above average or good. This comic exceeds most other comics and deserves a real look, if not follow from everyone.
8- Something about this comic powers it past good. This comic is great. It stands well above most, but lacks something that makes this exceptional
9- This comic is exceptional. It isn’t perfect, but one of the best things you could ever read. This comic does everything almost everything right.
10.- This comic is perfect. It flows perfectly, it feels perfect, it is perfect, this is the comic you never want to put down, and the one you never want to end.

Before I rate it, I always state my rating going into it. This refers to my expectations and bias’ towards it. I generally make my opinions based on my own experiences, what I have heard others say about it, and what the major nerd media sources think about it.

Finally, I end with a brief summary of why I rated it the way I did. What was good about and what was bad about it. Generally discussing what I would have liked to see, or what would have made it better.

This entry was posted in BlogPosts by ravingnerd. Bookmark the permalink.

About ravingnerd

I am the Ravingnerd. I rant, rave, and discuss all matter of nerdy things. I am the nerds nerd. In addition to this, I am also a Communication's Studies Major skilled in conducting fair and unbiased research. I plan on posting continually and always nerdy, so if you stop by once, and like an article, I advise you to check in again. You can also keep up with me on a daily feed on Twitter, by following Ravingnerd.

Leave a Reply

