Ravingnerd Reviews: Two-Face #1

While most of the villains month feature novice creators of some sort, Two-Face #1 stands as the exception to that rule. With the all star dream team of Peter Tomasi and Guillem March, it was hard not to be enticed by this issue. Two-Face as a character has rarely been done in the capacity that I would have liked. For most of his career he has been a gimmick villain like so many others. While others like the Joker, Penguin, and Poison Ivy evolved from their gimmick, others like Two-Face and the Riddler have never really been given a chance to shine in the spot light. Speaking of spot light, is this not one of the coolest visuals ever?

Beautiful

Right? Before I continue here’s what I liked about the issue.

1. Guillem March is one of the best artists in the industry, and I’m pleased that he got the chance to do a one shot. While I’m all about supporting new talent, I’m certainly glad he was on board this issue.
2. The script is perfect. Tomasi recognizes that to truly do Two-Face well, you have to embrace the duality of his life.
3. The switch between identities as we see Two-Face and Dent in the same setting, is perfect. And both stories combine to make a nearly perfect one.
4. Two-Face, of all of the villains in Gotham has the greatest chance for good. A 50% chance and as he does multiple times in the issue, he dabbles with good as much as evil.
5. Secret Society be damned! Two-Face recognizes only one authority: The coin.

Rating before reading: 8
Rating after reading: 9

As a single tale, it was one of the most solid one shot’s I’ve ever read. Brilliantly drawn and craftily written, both creators are on top of their game with this comic. I have always called Tomasi the unsung hero of the New 52, as Batman & Robin and GLC have been some of the consistently best written titles in the New 52. Tomasi gets inside the characters mind (or is it minds?) and shows us that Two-Face is much more than just a gimmick villain. And did I mention Guillem March drew it?

I know I promised my thoughts on all the new creators, and sited that as my reason behind going all in for Villains Month. That is still all true, but I am definitely pleased that I had the fortune to read this comic as well.

Until the next time,

Rn

3 thoughts on “Ravingnerd Reviews: Two-Face #1

  1. I thought this was an absolutely amazing issue. The duality of Two-Face is so well done. After reading this I would love to see Two-Face put it to a flip, and then side with Luthor against the Syndicate, protecting Earth.

    • And that is exactly the kind of motivation I would like to see a villain use to protect the Earth. Lex makes sense as he’s never considered himself a bad guy. Two-Face is another likely choice just because of the coin. Still puzzled as to who else will join in the fun.

  2. Pingback: The Best of Villains Month | Ravingnerd

Leave a Reply

