Ravingnerd- The King of the Nerds?

Hello everyone! Normally MoreFunTravis and I would regale you with our thoughts on last weeks comics and engage in rhetorical dialogue to sway you one way or the other. However, we have only had two votes, one for each side. And as neither one of us are willing to call it a draw, we’ll hold out and wait for someone to vote (you can right here, if you want!)

In the mean time I have decided to share something that has been going on with me this past week. I was asked through the blog, and later in emails, to participate in the second season of TBS’ King of the Nerds show. I was astounded that they found me and were interested in my following the application process. Who wouldn’t want to be apart of a nerdy gaming show? I know I would love to, and in fact wished I was on the first season of the show as my arrogance has led me to believe that I’m king of the nerds anyway, why not earn the title? That being said the reality aspect of the show made the concept less appealing. I am not a fan of reality shows, nor how they skew real life.

I have spent much time into building a professional pedigree outside of my hobby. I have always dreamed that I won’t have to use it, and that I’ll be able to make a living just being a nerd, but recognize that isn’t likely. It doesn’t mean I won’t try, but I felt it necessary to cultivate strong options outside of this nerdy world we love. While I saw this opportunity as a way to expand my blogging presence and audience, the reality show aspect was a serious draw back. I take pride in always being myself, and I don’t want a show to potentially cast me as someone I am not. Finally, reality shows aren’t the way people “get big”. The only career option I could foresee gaining from participating is the chance to do another reality show somewhere. I understand and respect the people who do that, but that isn’t for me.

Thus after nearly a week of debating, and asking all those who have helped me build my pedigree to the level it is now, I have determined that participating would only be harmful to this career path I have built out. While I dream of gaining fame and fortune for being my nerdy self, I don’t think this is the way to do it. So for me, it is back to the drawing board. This path isn’t one I should take, but that doesn’t mean I won’t stop trying to expand my presence and nerding out over every little thing. Maybe one day another opportunity will suddenly come knocking on the doors of this blog. One that I won’t have to turn down.

Do you all think I made the right decision?

Until the next time, I will be king. Just not now.

Rn

2 thoughts on “Ravingnerd- The King of the Nerds?

  1. After a bit of a unfortunate hiatus, I am back! I would defiantly love to see you on the show, as it would be really exciting for us fans of the blog. It would be totally awesome! However, I believe in the pursuit of happiness and if being on the show isn’t going to make you happy as far as your dreams and desires go, then I totally respect your choice to not be a part of the show.

    I’m glad to be back, I’ve been catching up on some content and as always, I love it. Super pumped for the tournament!

Leave a Reply

