Ravingnerd Reviews: Uncanny X-Men #1

Well hello there folks. The very first Marvel review I ever conducted was on the last relaunch of Uncanny X-Men, which wasn’t all that long ago by comic standards. However, the X-line is no longer at the same strength it was before. Regenesis is over (thank goodness) and a new era for both mutants and the X-Men have begun. While I’ll be honest, I’m only reading this title because I have a massive hard on for Scott Summers, this issue had some great moments. Here is what I liked.

1. I really enjoy the new costumes. Cyclops, Magento, and even Magik have pretty bad ass new costumes. I was initially hesitant, but I shouldn’t have been. They were executed really well. Not to mention the symbolism that could begin with Magento’s costume change.
2. Chris Bachalo’s art is pretty damn superb  Disagree? Then go back and look at the epic Sentinel splash page.
3. The mysterious traitor revealed at the end. What the hell? Is anyone else reeling from it as much as myself?

Rating before reading: 7
Rating after reading: 8

The true X-Men title is back. And while More Fun Travis might disagree with me, this hearkens back to the X-Men book that I want to read. The foundation of a school (this one has the real X-professors) and lots and lots of Cyclops, which is just what a good X-book needs.

All in all, this title answers most of my problems with the current X-Men titles. Except from the treasonous douche revealed at the end, everyone involved with the book recognizes Scott’s irrefutable hold as true leader of the mutant race. This book ups the ante within the fictional narrative of Marvel’s master plans. If you remember what I like best about All-New X-Men #1, it was the clear split in the X-Men and the extreme prominence that should have been awarded to Scott. Instead, Bendis painted the picture of him as the villain in that book. Now we get the other side (and in my opinion, the true side to the argument), Cyclops the leader of the mutant race. Feared by many and respected by all. The master narrative that has unfolded with Scott’s story is literally epic. It’s a massive journey with many characters and many hardships. I can only hope that this becomes an epic tragedy. Seriously, how awesome would it be for Scott to die to save the mutant race. There could be no better resolution to the story, I don’t think.

Until the next time, join the revolution.

Rn

6 thoughts on “Ravingnerd Reviews: Uncanny X-Men #1

  1. I couldn’t agree more with you about the quality of this issue. This may end up on my permanent pull list, as long as they do not begin making it necessary to follow a bunch of extra titles for the full story. I completely understood where the traitor was coming from though, considering the circumstances and all. I’ll be picking up number 2.

  2. Well I finally got it read, and boy, oh boy! I love every inch of this book. Bachalo was amazing as always. Totally agree with you RN the new costumes are quite snazzy. I knew the second this started who the traitor was, and was very glad to see Bendis take it that way. To be honest, they’ve been building that since AvX and it is absolutely what needs to happen and totally what this character would do. I think Bendis’ run on Uncanny is going to be the deconstruction and rebuilding of Scott Summer.

    Great first issue. There is going to be so much more to come. I’ve said it for a while now, but it is such a great time to be an X fan. This deserves heaps and heaps of praise. In it all the way, for the long haul and I could not be more excited.

Leave a Reply

