Ravingnerd Reviews: Happy! #1

I’m unsure what I would call this comic. It definitely isn’t super heroes, nor is it really a crime drama. This comic was, well we aren’t sure because it hasn’t gone anywhere yet. Don’t let the name fool you, this comic is NOT happy and fun. It’s dark, there is an insane amount of cussing, violence, and blood. Did I mention the tiny flying blue unicorn thing? There’s that too. Yes Happy! isn’t really the normal type of comic I would read. But it’s Grant Morrison, and if there is one thing I’ve learned about his writing, it’s to buy first and ask questions later. Here is what I liked.

1. The main character isn’t a nice guy. And that’s putting it mildly. The series appears to be about his team up with this My Little Pony type creature. The pairing is hilarious.
2. There are some truly funny moments. Despite how dark the comic is, there are some dark laughs to be had.
3. The art for the Horse thing is truly funny.

Rating before reading: ?
Rating after reading: ?

You can’t judge Morrison by a single issue. He’s a brilliant writer, but he writes for the long-term story telling initiative. His stories are always involving, in-depth, intelligent, and often trippy. I urge you all to give this comic a try. If it’s something you think you could like, keep reading, it’ll only get better. For the rest of you, the moment this comic is made available in trade form, you better buy it. I trust Grant Morrison to write brilliant stories, and he hasn’t let me down yet.

Until the next time, well, I don’t want to say the catch phrase of this comic. It isn’t very nice.

Rn

Leave a Reply

