Ravingnerd Reviews: Before Watchmen- Comedian #3

I will be honest, Comedian has been one of the most disappointing titles in the Before Watchmen series. While Brian Azzarello has created some of my favorite series’ in all of comics, Comedian and Rorschach aren’t looking like the strongest titles in the line (though Rorschach has longer to prove it). That being said, this comic did a 180 upon readings. I have a completely different view now than I did upon first reading, so here’s what I liked.

1. The character continues to provide stunning social commentary, stinging one liners, and a unique look at history (errr, Watchmen history).

Rating before reading: 6
Rating after reading: 7

While I can only pick out one memorable moment, that is what makes this comic “above average” rather than just “average”. This comic does literally nothing but show us a real part of human history. While the Watchmen universe history varies drastically from ours, the single event of this comic does nothing but provide a stunning commentary for a much darker time in our history. That’s what I got out of it. I hated it upon first read, but being quite informed with American history, I began to see the brilliant insight this comic provides upon further reading.

Until the next time, smile.

Rn

Leave a Reply

