Why Does the Internet Hate DC?

I would like to start off by saying thanks for all of the positive feedback on my podcast. I’m glad you all enjoyed it, and I look forward to making more!

I have been wanting to do this post for quite some time. Every time I go onto the comment board or facebook comments on Newsarama, CA, or any other comic book themed site I am instantly struck by the amount of hate for DC. All the people on there are scathing DC, their characters, their universe, everything about it.

I first became really interested in this topic a few weeks ago. I of course knew that the internet hated DC, but this was a clear-cut example. Newsarama had posted a preview for some title, I believe it was Nightwing. When looking at the comments on their facebook link to it, the comments were nothing but hate. Some of it relating to Nightwing, most of it just hate for DC and the New 52. Here are some samples “There’s no point, DC will just reboot again next year when sales tank” or “I followed many New 52 titles until their sales started tanking again. I hate to get invested in the losing team” or my personal favorite “Are they really still doing this abortion of an idea? When will DC get a fucking clue?”

Later that day Newsarama posted an interview with Kieron Gillen about Iron Man NOW!. These are example’s of comments left on that post “This title looks so good! Marvel NOW! is killing it!” or “They’ve really stepped up the game with Marvel NOW! Great teams on great characters. The other companies should get a clue.” Or the most negative one on the panel “I don’t like Greg Land’s art. I have a hard time reading comics with him on it. Iron Man’s my favorite though, so I’ll give it a shot”. Yep that was the most negative comment (not referencing DC) I found in the 60 odd comments it had at the time.

Why is that? Why do people generate so much hatred for DC, but then praise Marvel. I understand that Marvel’s fans are zombies and the DC’s fans are generally classier, but can have their faith broken easily. I get this. What I don’t get is how none of us DC fans manage to pop up on the radar. Maybe it’s the Marvel zombies who run the internet, and if that’s the case I feel a bit better. My question is though, where are the DC fans? Where is my strong net of Twitter followers that, like me, wants an internet of equal coverage? Can we truly enact change without doing the dirty work in message boards or comment sections?

What are your thoughts? Are you as bothered about it as I am? Let me know!

Until the next time, DC FOR LIFE!

Rn

This entry was posted in BlogPosts by ravingnerd. Bookmark the permalink.

About ravingnerd

I am the Ravingnerd. I rant, rave, and discuss all matter of nerdy things. I am the nerds nerd. In addition to this, I am also a Communication's Studies Major skilled in conducting fair and unbiased research. I plan on posting continually and always nerdy, so if you stop by once, and like an article, I advise you to check in again. You can also keep up with me on a daily feed on Twitter, by following Ravingnerd.

7 thoughts on “Why Does the Internet Hate DC?

  1. It’s gotten to the point where I just don’t read many of those “comic news” websites anymore. Between the hate and supposed “expert” knowledge, except they don’t even read a whole arch before pronouncing sentence… that’s why I don’t comment. I have to actually care what they think to read it in order to comment.
    Besides, sales speak much louder than an obvious vocal minority who do not seem to actually be affecting sales.

  2. I definitely agree with you here. A lot of people on the internet are very vocal about their love for Marvel. While I have no bias towards one company more than the other, I’d think it was because this is the internet age, and Marvel has a lot of mainstream things other than comics they have been releasing, like the animated shows and most of all the cinematic universe.

    Not to say DC’s have been worse, because they haven’t. Marvel just gets a lot of undeserved press that should be going to DC. There isn’t really a good way to compromise since Marvel is constantly putting out more while DC is putting out more quality. A lot of people aren’t so invested in few things of good quality nowadays.

      • I don’t see why it can’t be both.
        Though I do know that there are people who have voiced complaints solely about the New 52. I don’t know if they like Marvel more, but they didn’t bring it up in the same post.

        To be honest I like the storyline Marvel Zombies because it’s fun, haha. But I’d definitely say that the bulk of commenters are likely in the boat of zombie followers.

Leave a Reply

