The Bible and Comic Books

This post will contain spoilers for both Phantom Strange #0, so read the comic or read my review before you proceed. You’ve been warned.

Today came the reveal that yet another biblical character will be making his debut in the New 52. This comes just days after Phantom Stranger #0 finally revealed what many had been speculating: In the New 52 Phantom Stranger is Judas. Hate to discuss spoilers, but these are too big to avoid.

In case you missed it this morning the teaser for Demon Knights #0 revealed that Lucifer Morningstar will move from his acclaim at Vertigo and set up base within mainstream DC. So that means both Judas and Lucifer are now players within continuity. Not one, but two biblical characters of major importance revealed in one week. DC has now made it clear that biblical characters and stories are important to their story telling initiative. The real question comes down too, are you as a reader fine with this? I myself enjoy it. Whether it be Greek, Christian, Norse, or whatever religion, I love to see it intersect with comic books, super heroes, movies, and indeed most literature. I’m a sucker for underlying meanings, and deeper philosophical implications. So I was not only thrilled at the idea that a super hero in the DC Universe was Judas but that Lucifer Morningstar, wo is perhaps the coolest interpretation of Satan I’ve ever read, was being folded into continuity.

What are your thoughts on this matter? Do you want more or less intersection between religions and comic books? Or is there a line? Is it okay to intersect with Norse and Greek, but not bigger more prominent religions? I’d love to hear your comments!

Until the next time, live long and prosper (it’s Star Trek’s birthday).

Rn

4 thoughts on “The Bible and Comic Books

  1. I love the idea too. No topic should be excluded from the comic book medium. Everything is meant to be explored and fleshed out. This can only open up new ways of thinking and new perspectives on old material. Though there are those who may argue that the Greek and Norse characters are fictional and Judas is not (I believe they all existed at some point in the real world, but full disclosure, I also believe in aliens.) They may see this as blasphemous. But I like the idea.

    • I find myself agreeing with you. I can’t see a downside to fictional characters using religions as backstories/origins/inspirations. Whether one believes or not, I think it can only expand a characters mythos and open it up to scholarly critiques. That’s never a bad thing.

  2. of course this developement sucks. what’s the deal with the stranger apparently limitless powers and mystery when we’re told up front he’s just judas?? does nobody see a problem giving so great power to a “known” betrayer?? this messes up the stranger consistency so much i can’t even describe it

    • I got a lot of that. Though the series has been pretty good so far. I’m hoping it will keep getting better. I also thought they did a good job at balancing his power and his origin.

Leave a Reply

