Ravingnerd Reviews: Rocketeer: Cargo of Doom #1

Well the titles a mouthful, but I couldn’t resist buying into the new Rocketeer series. I have kept informed about the series through social media, but earlier this week Comixology ran a sale on some Rocketeer content…. needless to say I’m poorer now because of it. This was brilliant on their part as I was pumped to hear that their was another Rocketeer series, and that I could get it this week! The question then came down to when I would get it, and not if. So without further ado, here is what I liked:

1. It feels classic. All of the quintessential Rocketeer-isms are in place to make it a great story.
2. It has a clear direction. This is going somewhere as a comic. It’s not just a myriad of stories strung together.
3. There are villains. Not just one, but many villains. Villains with history and mystery. I’m a sucker for my villains.
4. The art is gorgeous and perfect for the title.
5. It’s fun. Just a bunch of fun.

Rating before reading: 7
Rating after reading: 9

Perhaps I’m still in Rocketeer mode, but I loved it. It felt like a comic should feel. Unlike any DC or Marvel title I read, it felt like a comic that could have a plot and be loads of light fun too. The comics I read are to story driven to just be fun, and all of the “funny comics” (like Deadpool) are stupid and impossible to read. This comic is none of that. This comic fits into its own category. It pays homage to the late Dave Stevens’ iconic character. Mark Waid and Chris Samnee tell and illustrate a fun and enjoyable story, one that is inviting and interesting to new and old readers alike.
This is only my second taste of what IDW has to offer. So far, I like it. While I love my super heroes and my involved year-long plot lines, it’s very nice to be able to escape into a series like this. A series that feels old and new, and feels like fun.

It may just be my opinion, but it’s right.

Rn

3 thoughts on “Ravingnerd Reviews: Rocketeer: Cargo of Doom #1

  1. Pingback: Ravingnerd Reviews: The Rocketeer- Cargo of Doom #2 | Ravingnerd

Leave a Reply

