Ten Great Comic Book Creators

Hello everyone! I have been pondering this list for quite a while and have decided not to focus on the creators that we all know and love. So I could go on about how great Gail Simone, Grant Morrison, Geoff Johns, and JIm Lee are but there really wouldn’t be much different between that post and any of my normal posts. Many of my posts discuss how great these creators are. There would be nothing new about it. So I have comprised a list of some of the other creators I have grown to love.

10. Len Wein: I was introduced to him through Ozymandias. While I had read about what he’d done, who he’d created and how influential he has been in the industry. I had not experienced his craft first hand until this summer. I am very glad I did, and cannot express enough how great his skill is.

9. Kyle Higgins: Nightwing (New 52). Nightwing has been great from the start of the New 52. The first issue earned an eight, and the series has kept my interest through the year. While I didn’t originally follow the series, I have picked up every issue since the Court of Owls crossover. All I can really say is that Higgins’ writing drives the book. He knows his way around a character that has had troubles performing well in his solo titles. Kyle Higgins has earned my respect and is a name I will definitely seek out in the future on any title.

8. Paul Cornell: Stormwatch (New 52). Paul Cornell made Stormwatch brilliant. Some of the greatest moments in the New 52 are from his run on Stormwatch. He blends action, drama, and wit so perfectly. Bringing the entire team of heroes to life within the course of an issue. He’s a writer that I’d follow anywhere (and have stayed familiar with Demon Knights just to be closer to his wit).

7. Miguel Sepulveda: Stormwatch (New 52). The early days of Stormwatch were brilliant. While Paul Cornell’s wit hit the mark every time, Sepulveda’s art was brilliant. Sepulveda drove every issue. His character designs were fantastic, and by far the best take on them in this past year. So call it a one two punch. The early days of Stormwatch were great. It hasn’t been the same since.

6. Jimmy Palmiotti/Justin Gray: All-Star Western and Ame Come. I write these guys together because they collaborate so well together. Both are extremely talented by themselves and have done some great work in their many years. However I was introduced to them through All-Star Western. Which is an absolute smash. It’s a smash because they both know their way around a story and switch off creative duties well. An added bonus is that they are able to make all their stories the same top-notch quality.

5. J.H. Williams: Batwoman (duh). I was not introduced to Williams with the New 52, but in Elegy. That said, I was able to see him switch between writing and art. While I believe that he’s much more powerful on art. He knows the character of Batwoman better than most people. It’s been terrific to have him back on what could be described as his title. In addition to that, his art style is so wonderfully brilliant that he has inspired so many artists to utilize his broken style. Only legendary artists are capable of this.

4. Brian Azzarello: Wonder Woman, Comedian, Rorschach. I was introduced to Azzarello on Wonder Woman. Let’s face it, most of Wonder Woman is horrible. Majority of her stories are hard to read and poorly done. In this new series, Azzarello paints Wonder Woman against the back drop of a war of the Gods. While some have complained, most have been enthralled and entertained by the story (including myself). This series is easily one of the best in the New 52 and is most assuredly one of the greatest Wonder Woman runs of all time.

3. Greg Capullo: Batman (New 52). Here it comes. Where I tell you what you already know. But come on, his art is brilliant and awe-inspiring. While I am not a fan of his Riddler design, I am a fan of his Batman, the new looks for his Joker, and how he draws pretty much every other character he touches. He is a perfect complement to Scott Snyder’s brilliance.

2. Scott Snyder: Batman (New 52). Seriously. Who hasn’t been reading Scott Snyder’s Batman? It’s brilliant. I believe that there have been better writers for Batman. However, Snyder doesn’t write Batman. He writes Gotham. As was the case in his Gates of Gotham story, Snyder knows Gotham, its history, and it’s inhabitants well. Very well. So well that he’s got the entire world talking about him. Which is pretty great.

1. Jeff Lemire: Animal Man, Justice League Dark, National Comics. He is the man of the year and toast of the town, well at least he should be. Jeff Lemire has been brilliant with everything that he’s done. His National Comics: Eternity was one of the single greatest stories I’ve ever read, and it was only 20 pages. He is great with characters, and even better with plot delivery. He creates fast past narratives that still manage to highlight the characters he makes so masterful.

Who do you like? Who do you dislike? Let me know!

Until the next time, live long and prosper.

Rn

9 thoughts on “Ten Great Comic Book Creators

  1. He’s probably not experienced enough to have made this list, but I’m a fan of Madmud Asrar. He’s worked primarily on the art for nu52 Supergirl and I tell you what he’s pretty much the only reason I read SG right now.

    • It’s fabulous to know that you read Supergirl, and I am disappointed that you haven’t told me all about it! I haven’t been following it, but his profile fits the bill of many of the creators on my list. I will most definately take a look back at issue one and two (if he is the artist at that time) and look at his art work.

      • I mean, there’s not much to SG right now – it really was just a reboot and poor Kara has no idea what’s going on still. I think what really drew me to it was the way Asrar made Kara look like an actual person – if that makes any sense. I feel like people might see Kara as more of a sex symbol (or worse, Superman’s “girlfriend”) but the way Asrar approaches her, it gives her a more human look than the “hey I’m a female superman look at me and my short skirt and half-shirt” fanservice designs.

      • That’s fantastic. I hate the character because in the past she has been nothing but short skirt Superman. I despise characters that exist to do nothing but that.

  2. At present Animal Man is the best New 52 series (along with Blue Beetle).
    What makes Animal Man special is the way Lemire deconstructs the superhero mythology. For example:
    1) Superheroes tend to monopolize the attention of the reader, while Animal Man is constantly upstaged by the supporting characters of the series.
    2) Superhero comics usually don’t give much importance to the private life of their main character (they tend to focus only on the “costume on” part); in Animal Man, on the contrary, the private life of Buddy is the main theme of the series. In fact, it is rather infrequent to see Buddy with his costume on.
    3) Buddy is not perfect, and is not perceived as perfect by other people: in fact, in the 11th issue, when he tells his wife “It’s going to be okay”, she replies “Don’t give me anything of that superhero crap, Buddy.” That cut and thrust perfectly enlightens the philosophy of the series.

Leave a Reply

