Haters Gonna Hate

Today Dave Gibbons stated that he felt that all Watchmen projects, including the movie, video games, and Before Watchmen series were not canon. That they were just stories featuring the same characters. This has once again brought attention to DC’s controversial decision to launch Before Watchmen. Many are now up in arms against DC, causing more ruckus now than before. I am once again completely puzzled by this. Has DC not proven that Before Watchmen wasn’t just a cash grab?

While Nite-Owl and Comedian have not been as strong, the rest of the line has been solid. Both Minutemen and Silk Spectre have been unexpectedly strong. I gave Ozymandias #1 top honors, it was everything a fan could have hoped for and more. These successes should not be taken lightly. Most monthly comics I read don’t match the quality that these comics do. As I have started reading AvX, I have been surprised that people haven’t criticized it like they have Before Watchmen. It screams fan service, and if Before Watchmen was a “cash grab”, AvX is “holy crap DC’s doing better than us, we need to make something that sounds really huge”. I haven’t really enjoyed the story of AvX so far, the battles have been neat but that’s about all the merit the series has.

In short, my opinions of Before Watchmen have not changed. It has proven itself to be quality material and has surprised even myself, whom was excited about it before it started. So if you haven’t checked it out, I suggest you do. If you have, has this new statement changed your opinion about it? Let me know, I’d love to get your input.

Until the next time, live long and prosper.

Rn

Leave a Reply

