DC’s 4th Wave: What Will We See?

SDCC is about to wrap up, and there has been a lot of buzz about the New 52. Within the various live panels of SDCC, I believe at least two 4th wave titles have been revealed. In this post I will discuss what you may have missed, as I believe I know what the next 4 titles within the DCU to be. So let’s break them down. I’ll start by what is most likely.

1. WildC.A.T.S: Jim Lee is leaving Justice League, this means that Jim Lee will have no projects going at DC. The rumors before SDCC were that Jim would start-up his Wildstorm property during DC’s next wave. During multiple panels at DC creators like Rob Liefeld and Geoff Johns have made reference to WildC.A.T.S, this almost assuredly means that we will see this title coming next. My guess would be that Liefeld on writing and Lee on art. I can’t say I’m excited for the series, but once official solicits come in, I could change my mind.

2. Multiversity- No, this title is not about college. This title will be about expanding the mythos of the Multiverse. According to the information at SDCC, Grant Morrison has been tapped to write this world spanning comic series. The title and writer have been mentioned almost explicitly, but who will draw it and when it will launch has not. You can always look to me to inform you of what’s to come. I’m good at that sort of thing.

3. The Outsiders: While I have previously mentioned that I personally thought that this would be a strong addition to the line, quite a few hints have been dropped to this title. With the announcement that Stephanie Brown has been pulled from Smallville (still very pissed about that) and that just as many questions about Cass were asked as Stephanie, there is a strong chance that one of them will appear with the Outsiders. Snyder and Geoff Johns both mentioned they were just waiting to find the right time for them. Pulling Steph from Smallville could very well be related to her impending appearance on a new title. In addition to these thoughts, Black Lightning has been added to the New 52 and with the popularity of owls, a new Outsiders team is very likely in my opinion. Plus hints as to the new Talon series would indicate he’d find some friends in the New 52, friends who could join into a team. You see where I’m going with this. Plus it’s a Bat-Title, and they sell like crazy.

4. The Question: The Question has already been seen in the New 52, and according to Dan Didio, will be much more important. With a solo title for Phantom Stranger (one of the Trinity of Sin) and how familiar we all are with Pandora by now, the Question is the only member of the Trinity that we have not seen. After Trinity War it would seem likely that the Question would go on and have his own series. I think this is very likely.

Well this is what I got out of SDCC, what about you?

Until the next time, live long and prosper.

Rn

5 thoughts on “DC’s 4th Wave: What Will We See?

  1. I’m just gonna leave this here:

    Rob Liefeld is an uninspired writer and an embarrassment to the art community. He’s the reason I’ve dropped Grifter. The dialogue feels like it was written by Michael Bay while he was in Middle School.

  2. Pingback: The New Justice League | Ravingnerd

  3. Pingback: DC’s Chopping Block: The Next to Die | Ravingnerd

  4. Pingback: 7 Reasons Why Team 7 Will Be Awesome | Ravingnerd

Leave a Reply

