Ravingnerd Reviews: AvX Round 1

Enough time has passed, where I fell comfortable (and have the income enough) to pick up back issues of this series every week (should I choose too). I purchased but did not review issue #0 as I felt it was rather unneccessary. But with this weeks fourth printing of AvX #1, I was able to snag the last copy at my shop and give it a try. I don’t intend this to be a collector’s item, otherwise picking up a 4th printing would never happen. Anyway, without further ado (and though months late) may I present what I liked about Round 1.
1. Nova got his butt kicked. And since I dislike him, that part rocked.
2. We got to see cameo appearances of many lesser important X-Men. Many of whom are my favorite Marvel characters.
3. Captain America did his thing, which is be a leader. And in doing so, made me question one of my favorite characters (Cyclops).
4. Cyclops shot first.

Rating before reading: 4

Rating after reading: 6

It was a solid “good”. It was nothing better than that, but it is an attention grabber. It makes you want to pick up the next issue, which is what a first issue is supposed to do right? While there are many problems with the issue, most notably the lack of great writing or dialogue. This issue is setting up for smashing. Thus the dialogue can’t be all that great, and I am sure in the future it won’t be all that great either.

Well, I hope you enjoyed it.

Until the next time, live long and prosper.

Rn

Leave a Reply

