Cancelled: What didn’t survive the New 52?

Today’s Spetember or “Zero Month” solicitations were previewed and we learned the three titles that will be cancelled in September. But before that, I’m going to take a look back at the 6 titles that didn’t even make it this far into the New 52.

O.M.A.C and Hawk and Dove were the only two that were not surprises in my mind. Both of those series’ garnered a 2 and a 5 respectively on my first issue reviews. The second issue didn’t make me want to read them any more either. It was the opposite for the other titles. Men of War earned a 6 (the equivalent of average) and Static and Mister Terrific got a 7. While these three earned positive ratings, their second issues didn’t give me a reason to want to look back. Blackhawks, as you already know and as I have already discussed was the exception to the other titles. It was good enough for me to continue reading it. I don’t know if I was blinded by the “underdog” nature of the title or if I genuinely loved the title itself. Regardless the answer to that, I followed it until the bitter end. I think I enjoy my pull list better as a whole now, but do miss what Blackhawks represented.

We learned a month ago that JLI was going to be cancelled, and that surprised me. I was confident that a new JL title would take it’s place, but as I have discussed it didn’t. And JLI was good enough for me to dabble in and out of the series.

Today it was announced that Voodoo, Captain Atom, and Resurrection Man were the newest casualties. I had anticipated Captain Atom and I honestly thought Voodoo should have been cut in the first round (though I know a few who love the series). However, Resurrection Man gained a 9 on my reviews. Only extremely high end titles earned 9’s. But as I have hinted, the series has gotten progressively worse. So while I am sad to see it go, I am happy that I will be able to expand my pull list into new works.

However, this leaves us the chance to speculate on the future of the New 52. The Third Wave generally appears to be pretty weak and now most of the weakest titles in the line (and one strong one) have been cut. So it’s anyone’s guess as to what will be cancelled and launched for DC’s 4th Wave, and you can bet that I’ll continue speculating and making accurate assumptions as to what is killed next!

What are your thoughts? Do any of my viewers follow these four titles? Follow the last 6 titles? Will you be picking up any of the new 4? Let me know here, I’d love to discuss comics and understand what you want out of a comics.

Next time I’ll discuss Zero Month, stay tuned!

Until the next time, live long and prosper.

Rn

One thought on “Cancelled: What didn’t survive the New 52?

  1. Pingback: Zero Month: DC Makes Something Out of “Nothing” « .

Leave a Reply

