To Boldly Go- Part 3

In my previous two posts I discussed Star Trek Enterprise, and the JJ Abrams Star Trek franchise. I listed them 5th and 4th on my list. Today I will review one of the Big Three. The Big Three referring to the tour de force 7 seasons of TNG, DS9, and Voyager. Each ran for 7 seasons, with some of them overlapping. Meaning at maximum saturation you had three Star Trek shows on air at once. Pretty damn nifty huh? While Enterprise was the natural evolution of this process, its lackluster 4 seasons ended the Star Trek dynasty. Today I will review my thoughts for the tail end of that Dynasty. Yes today I review

Star Trek: Voyager.

I felt I had to get this review out of the way. I know my first three posts will be logged down with the last three franchises, but I can’t help but get it out of the way. These series’ are just not as good as their predecessors, Voyager being no exception.

It had everything going for it. Starting up in the game changing Season 5 of DS9, instantly thrusting viewers and fans into a different side of the Maquis conflict. Done, that’s all you had to do was show viewers this, we get to see something new, and yet are in familiar.  However, this turns out not to be the case. The crew of Voyager is flung into the outer edges of the Galaxy, and what was a simple mission has now left them 75 years away from the nearest Starfleet outpost. The Maquis move in and help form a rag-tag band of survivors, out to fight the odds. And that’s where it ends. If any summary I just told you sounds good, that is where it ends. The series from this point gets a little bit convoluted and A LOT crazy. Instead of being a fight for survival, Voyager returned to the normal Star Trek plot, which is ADVENTURES IN SPACE (echo, echo, echo). Yes, Voyager turns right around and starts mingling with alien life forms. Only seldom do they ever ask them for help or information.

The plot revolves around some key linear ideas, which end up getting lost in all of the lackluster random trekking done within the series.

The Maquis crew members naturally play a part in the show. With tension arising every so often and episodes revolving around this.

The Borg make their not so triumphant return. After the stellar Star Trek: First Contact movie, the Borg and their queen returned in Voyager and were recurring foes. Probably what I find the most disturbing about this is the fact that the Voyager destroyed the Borg. The big baddie beaten by a …… less than stellar ship or crew.

Q also showed up to make trouble in a few episodes, but even this is turned into an awkward process as his character is grounded and limited more.

My main problem with Voyager (aside from everything) is the cast. I found very few cast members who grew on me or inspired my sympathy. While I enjoyed Captain Janeway, I did not enjoy many of the other characters Cha’Kotey, B’Ellaina, Ensign Kim, and even 7/9 never seemed to grow on me. Though the more I watch it, the more I feel for 7/9. Neelix and Kess were the low points in the show. While attempting to add alien eccentricities all these characters did was cause unneeded problems, and further my dislike for other characters as they began to friend and trust these two. Paris and the Doctor were the only two characters whom I can honestly say I enjoyed. Paris’ character got better and better, and the Doctor added much-needed comic relief and added the ambiguous factor. The ambiguous factor being a character who doesn’t understand humanity, for what ever reasons. The Doctor follows, Spock, Data, and Odo on this list. This leaves me with Tuvok. The vulcan who shouldn’t have been. Spock, while campy at the time, was the ultimate in terms of the vulcan race. Since his characterization others just fall flat. Tuvok was not a horrible character, just predictable, and underused while being overused all the same.

As you may have guessed, I ranked Voyager 6th on my list of Star Trek franchises. Yep that’s right, it’s dead last. Yep, you heard me, I even dared to suggest that Enterprise was better than Voyager. While some might find this blasphemy, many will find my responses to be true.

I hope you have enjoyed this, now that we have gotten through the mess of lesser Star Trek franchises, I will tackle the remaining three. And it’s guaranteed to be brilliant.

Until the next time, live long and prosper

Rn

7 thoughts on “To Boldly Go- Part 3

  1. I love how the only series with a woman in command is also the one where they happen to get LOST FOREVER.

    • I agree. And the only one where the goal was not to explore anything. No the goal of Voyager was to retrieve Tuvok and come back to earth. I like having a woman as captain, but at least have her do something important.

  2. What did you think about Star Trek: The Next Generation? I enjoyed that series quite a bit, especially with Patrick Stewart playing Captain Picard. I thought there was a lot about Riker that remained unfleshed, even through the third season. Considering how they tried to make a sort of love relationship between him and Counselor Troi, I think his character was a bit disappointing, but I really enjoyed Data and Deanna Troi. (More potential, I think, should have been eked from Troi, but the makers included many fun episodes with her, especially with her mother in Menage-a-Troi.)

    • My review of that series will come this week actually. I loved that series. The characters are all wonderful and interesting, so even in the weakest of episodes you love to watch it. I agree, Riker was never really bad ass-enough. And the sudden shift from straight laced by the book officer to fiesty rule bender was never really explained either.

      • Haha. Too true. You could tell at first that they wanted him to be more bad-ass than they actually made him. He was clean cut and handsome, so I expected him to be a lady killer character, or to spend a series in a love triangle with Troi. His character changed when the beard grew in. Go figure.

      • I enjoyed the character, but I agree with you, there was something missing. Like some piece about his backstory that they left out. And it made a huge impact on his character.

Leave a Reply

